REFUGEE MOTHER AND CHILD (A Poem) by Chinua Achebe

14 thoughts on “REFUGEE MOTHER AND CHILD (A Poem) by Chinua Achebe”

    1. Quite so. I have read this a lot of times and yes, it makes so much sense. Paints so many pictures… Thanks for commenting Ephraim. Means much.

      Like

  1. “…children with washed-out ribs and dried-up bottoms stuggling in laboured steps behind blown empty bellies.” This piece by Achebe captures the pain and human story of Biafra and all wars in general. The haunting experiences of the most vulnerable victims of war (women and children)…painted so vividly, tugs at the heartstrings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reading the poem brings strong images that leave me close to tears. Simple and yet so deeply painful.
      I thank you for the comment… and for making me read it once more Lady Juliet…

      Well done on WWN… You inspire.

      Like

  2. i remember the first time reading it in my high school days, since then iv refered to ot whenever i feel like life is unfair anf sudenly count my blessings… a very thought provoking poem, i love it with every fibre in me.

    Like

    1. Hi Teboho, I agree. This is a deep poem, quite deep. Deeply sad. I can easily understand what you are saying. There’s no time I read this poem that it does not speak to me. Thanks for commenting and making me get to this poem once more…you can’t say what that means to me. Thank you.

      Like

  3. poet, narrator, novelist, story teller, really a giant in the use of rhetoric, Achebe has sketched the conditions of colonized….indeed it is mournful…

    Like

    1. Indeed, Achebe’s loss is most mournful. Fortunately, there are those who he has inspired to take over. ..and they are doing their best.
      Thanks Stash for stopping by…

      Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...