Posted in ESSAYS AND LITERARY JOURNEYS, EVENTS

FOR OUR TEACHERS – THANKS!

For 5th October…

Today is World Teachers’ Day. All over the internet, different individuals and organisations celebrated various teachers. What can we do without them? Really, who are we without them? It doesn’t matter if we are talking of our non-formal teachers from mothers to the man in the streets who taught you a lesson or two; or those who taught us in various classes, they all deserve to be celebrated. If you can read what I have written, thank a teacher!

I could write of a million teachers; from Mr. Mbatsavde Emmanuel who tested my composition and became a big brother who I will never forget, to Mr. Atile Godwyns, my uncle and guardian through the high school years; Mr David and Suleiman, Aunty Joy, Mr Ukor Ayem (my primary school proprietor)… The list is endless. I have my parents to think of too; my father and mother, Mr. Charles Ayede, now even Belle, Professor Hyginus Ekwuazi and so many others. I thank the Almighty for each of them.

I spent some good months teaching in a secondary school in Taraba state, teaching Literature-in-English and English to students, some of whom couldn’t speak English! It was fun. The experience of my teaching inspired a short story of mine! I have had cause now on and off, to lecture and supervise some university undergraduates and give lessons to some of my fellow writers who I have also learnt from… What am I saying? Seeing both sides of the coin, I am most honoured that at least today, if only for one day, I can say THANK GOD THERE ARE TEACHERS!

For every one of you has ever taught me a thing or two – either privately or publicly, in class or out of it, I am deeply grateful and even if I don’t get the chance to say many times, I never took it for granted. For those of you, others who are teaching elsewhere, and impacting lives, enduring pain to ensure that students learn and get better, you are the real champions. I remember now Mrs. Marie Aduro, a fair proprietor who sweats it out every day in Minna for her students, fighting demons and policies to kill the illiteracy that looms large in that part of the world. I also remember Jennifer Aduro working hard to develop programmes to help aid in teaching. You are a star girl!

Kukogho Iruesiri Samson keeps on doing what he can to impact lives and today, he is also asking that you nominate a teacher to win 10,000 naira! Yaaaay, isn’t that cool? You can check the link HERE. Kudos to Dr. Emman Shehu, BM Dzukogi, Aidee Erhime, Debbie Iorliam and all the other amazing teachers there too.

Make a teacher happy today…

May the times celebrate and the world treat you kind.

Happy Teachers’ Day!

Teacher.jpg

Author:

Some all-rounded writer with the wits to turn anything and everything to words with inspiration... cheering to glory and on...

2 thoughts on “FOR OUR TEACHERS – THANKS!

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

