FOR THE LOVE OF THINGS BETWEEN COVERS (RAMBLINGS)

I am not ashamed to say that I have found the greatest pleasure under covers. Being intimate with just one soul, usually one. But there are those days when there are a number of us. It is always fun. Lovely…lovely, books.

Books are amazing and have done so much for a whole lot of us. Where would we be without books? It has continued to grow from those few papyrus pages of yore.

Take a minute and think – where would we be without books today? They have come together to form the tales that are our lives. We are almost like books in some form of the writing stage.

Today, I think of all the various books that have shaped my life from the great books of Literature, the Bible, other books of religion, my development books. More than these, I am thinking of the Kobo reader that gave me a vista to new books that I never might have read. I remember fondly now that I read Khaled Hossein’s The Kite Runner and other titles from him plus Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s Angel’s Game there. The same reader gave me the chance to share with loved ones, Belle, Debbie Iorliam and a few others. Wait, have I told you of the people I met from books? Kunta Kinte? Okonkwo? Dr Zhivago? Gabriel Van Helsing? Ah! The writers? From Achebe to Hemingway, Habila to Aristotle 😉 Okay, the comparisons aren’t coming out too well 🙂

But before I sound too nerdy and some people start talking of how people are no longer reading or all, let me say that I am also grateful for the gift of the world’s most famous and used book now: no, not the Bible. No, not the Koran or any top book you want to think of. Wait, did Ikhide just say ‘Facebook’? Top marks! Who else would have gotten it? Well, that is one book that we can’t do without, no? I have met so many lovely people after reading from that book.

Books have come to hold a more special meaning for me considering I have had four out and am working on more. As an editor and publisher, there are more that I am playing with too. There is nothing as beautiful as finding life in books. Really, where would we be without books?

Lest I forget, it is also Shakespeare’s birthday! Yaaaaay! I celebrate him as well as my friend, Ozioma Izuora, the amazon that keeps fighting. You don’t need to hear that she is from UNN to feel her lioness roarsShakespeare taught me much and I still remain mesmerised reading him. It is sad that his works are hard to enjoy on stage since the beauty of the words of the maestro are lost while one tries to look at the actions of people. But we will manage. Reminds me of that movie, Shakespeare in Love? Have you seen or watched it? Ah! You should if you haven’t. That is if you appreciate romance, thriller, adventure and the grace of verse. Should I start quoting some Shakespeare now? When it comes, it just feels like speaking in tongues: ‘There’s no art to finding the mind’s construction in the face…’ So, let me hide what else I have in mind.

Okay, two last lines: think of many romances books have brought…why don’t you spark life up some more again with a book or two. Happy World Book Day, Happy Copyright Day and Happy Shakespeare Day!

 

PS:
Special dedication to all those who books blessed me to find, amazing friends: Belle, Hyginus Ekwuazi, DaMore, Servio Gbadamosi, Omadachi Oklobia, Xikay, and the one million and whatever number else of the people on a dial that make my life worth it every day. Thank you, really much. I shall write some tales on books and love found from covers, maybe plus some shared between covers. Aidee thinks that we can be really cliche with our telling but maybe if I do just a few more cliches that come from the heart, we will all be fine. Love it or hate it, the books will still rule! Cheers.

2 thoughts on “FOR THE LOVE OF THINGS BETWEEN COVERS (RAMBLINGS)

  1. For the love of things between covers eh? Hehe. I promise my mind had thought far and wide before the last word in the first paragraph brought me back. You sef 😂! Books are indeed wonderful– words even, are not enough to discuss the glory they bring to lives. In the writing, and in the reading. And now that it’s been made more accessible by the offerings of the Internet, we bask in its muchness. Taking, and giving.

    And like you said– the real story is in the telling. Every heart felt piece reads differently, even if the story is rather overtold.

    For the love of reading, and writing; and the joy of finding meanings, and relationships in the magic between sheets and covers… I say a cheery Happy World Book Day to you too Su’! Glad I found you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey… Doc, sorry I didn’t see this earlier. I wonder how I could have missed it.
      And well, it was then but hey! Control that mischievous mind of yours. Jeje o! But again, don’t we know how your mind rolls? 😉
      Some day we shall talk plenty books and even those that you keep creating now on your blog. Interesting how you roll them out now – hooking us all. Really proud of you.
      You are amazing. Glad you here, and everywhere. May the times be kind and bring us the peace that gives us ease. #hugs

      Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

