Posted in comfort, NAIJA POETRY, POETRY, POETRY FROM THE WORLD

memory’s hold for our mothers (excerpt from a poem, for mothers) by su’eddie vershima agema

…at midnight You arrived home
wearing Your tiredness like a coat

Mum (from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/farai-chideya/ode-to-the-black-tiger-mother_b_3459906.html)
Mum and baby (from Here)

after a seventeen hour shift

Your eyes met my shivering frame
and motherly instinct undressed Your weariness
to pick Your boy
Your feet became wings to fly us both
to the nearest hospital miles away

we had silence for our companion
and when it became too comfortable
a sob from You or some more clattering from me
we found the home of healing after an eternity of walking;
me on Your back like a rider on a donkey

when the next morning came
i was well enough to smile my way to another day
You simply took your bath and found the road to work again

***

the chapters roll on quickly and i find myself years away:
our tale has made me a man seeking bread for my mouth
and the boy who took a ride on your back
wears the beard of a goat
walking the streets to seek remnants of a wealth
that hides in the past of a country whose resources
lie in the pocket of few fat fools who live that all else might die
i scratch two notes together and they light a small spark
to quench the cold of my phone’s recharge balance

Your voice sneaks in a whisper on the other side
a laugh only You can conjure appears in my mind
i try to translate it to words
but You cut me short:
hello son… I can’t talk much… the boss is watching
and I have hours to clock before I close…

(published 2015 shutters off: tales in verse)

Su’eddie  Vershima Agema is the author of 3 poetry collections and a short story collection. He won the Association of Nigerian Authors Joint Prize for Poetry 2014. He can be reached on Twitter @sueddieagema

Author:

Some all-rounded writer with the wits to turn anything and everything to words with inspiration... cheering to glory and on...

24 thoughts on “memory’s hold for our mothers (excerpt from a poem, for mothers) by su’eddie vershima agema

    1. How do you people get all these smileys na…? Chai! Thanks Ziks…really much. You are one the expressions that this few humble words try to articulate. For all you stand for, for being the mom you are; well done!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw. Thanks buddy. Really sweet of you. For the smiley thing, it’s easier when you use your phone, which is practically the only thing I use to do stuff on the web and all, since I do a lot on the move. I must admit it sucks when you are working from a laptop or desktop. I suggest you Google smiley use on WordPress and see what you come up with. Take care dear and catchya later

        Like

        1. Choi! We have suffered in this case then… I try to use the phone once in a while truly but ah, the system calls more to me 🙂 I do a lot on the move too but I try to find time to salute Lenny, my system 🙂 But I will ask my brother, Google Agema to help 😉

          Like

        1. Choi! Aondo will save us all from this name spoilage you are attempting. .. 🙂

          Since when did knowing one’s teacher have anything to do with it? Monsieur Strings yhr Swaggalious, we still hail you.

          From:”Su’eddie in Life n Literature” Date:Mon, 10 Aug, 2015 at 11:25 Subject:[Su’eddie in Life n Literature] Comment: “memory’s hold for our mothers (excerpt from a poem, for mothers) by su’eddie vershima agema”

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci M.R. I have so many mothers in my family and every story of theirs leaves me amazed… Motherhood! Only their assistants, fathers – as one of my big sisters would put it – can compare! Hee hee hee!

      Like

  1. This is a fantastically spun piece Sagely One, succinctly so! A mother’s priceless and her work’s never quite done, even when her kids have gone past the age considered to be ‘minors’! Its a lifelong process, the art of parenting! I would know, am one! 😇😃

    I stumbled upon a caption that reads…’ A mother spends 20 whole years making a man of her little boy and in a matter of what….20 minutes? another woman makes a total ass outta him’! Oops! 😈😆

    Thanks for sharing Sir and kudos to all moms and dads out there, plus the ‘to be’s’; doing a wholesome job of moulding their treasures into worthy Statesmen and women! Now, that’s what’s totally up! 😄👍

    Like

    1. Well, for them who make we men a total ass, una go know 🙂
      I took a small vac off this channel but I guess it is time to get back, abi?
      Mothers are amazing and ahhh, what can we really do without them? See you there too na… Creating lovely people of us all.
      One day perhaps I will do a collection on mothers… One day. Perhaps.

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

