Posted in BOOK THOUGHTS, LIFE, LITERARY MISSIONARY

RANTING ON WHERE I HAVE BEEN: ON THE ROAD

20150609_152657
Transforming the room

Hey guys! Really sorry I have been a bit off… There has been lots of stuff to catch up with. There was an interview I had with the network service of our Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) which I travelled to the capital for… Ah! That was something else. The way it is done, the interviewee usually has to host the session. I guess the idea is to ensure the interviewee is ‘much at home’ with the interview πŸ™‚ Oh well… So, I drove in on that beautiful Tuesday, for the interview. Mehn, you should have seen the traffic. It was the day for the official inauguration of the National Assembly… It seemed all their supporters had to come to Abuja. Well, I got to town and headed straight to my lodgings. When the NTA guys were through rearranging my room, I had to wonder where I was!

Oh well, it was a beautiful interview and I had to answer a set of ten or so questions like three times! Phew! I read a story, ‘Simply Mortal’ fromΒ The Bottom of Another Tale, my collection of short stories… three times! Performed three poems including ‘An Anthem of Pain’ (fromΒ Home Equals Holes: Tale of an Exile), ‘Awambe Awambe’ (a war poem in Tiv and English), and ‘If the Sun wasn’t so mean’ (the last Β two from my first collection of poems,Β Bring our casket home: Tales one shouldn’t tell. It was soooo much fun. And yup, you should have seen me doing the theatrics! Yaaaaaay! The interviewer, Dooshima, was wonderful as was Alex Omanchi (both in the picture above). We kept on talking and cracking jokes in between sessions and all such that I hardly had an idea that about three (or was it four?) hours had gone.

The interview aired on Thursday of the same week. Really cool. Don’t worry, I might get to post the video online at some point. Just remind me to do so πŸ˜‰

After that, I was able to catch up with a lot of people including Ben Ubiri, TJ Benson, Hymar David and Cece Ireneh, among

Hymar David, Cece Ireneh, TJ Benson and Su'eddie
Hymar David, Cece Ireneh, TJ Benson and Su’eddie

other writers. Yes, there were family and friends to meet but why bore you with that talk …

Since then, there has been a million running around and you don’t want to know the half of it. At a point, I thought my butt was going to scrape off. Thank goodness for family, my parents, friends, my lovely sister and yes, the belle.

Now, I was in Ibadan too and met with a million people that I cannot start mentioning! Maybe I should put that in a different post… Ah! What a town! There was the Niyi Osundare event I posted about earlier… At that place, I met everyone – well, nearly everyone. There was Anita Ikhifa who I hadn’t seen since my reading in Ibadan two years ago… There was Peter Akinlabi, Akintunde Aiki, Femi Fairchild Morgan, Servio Gbadamosi, Tosin, Jonah Obajeun…Iya Ibadan too (yeah, I know you don’t know them but Google might help small…that or Facebook. Lovely award winning writers, bloggers and peeps there)…

And the men themselves, Hyginus Ekwuazi and NIYI OSUNDARE! When I was going to perform my poem at the event, the

Performing at Osundare's event
Performing at Osundare’s event.. That’s Prof. Osundare and Femi Morgan behind me… I felt like one bamn preacher sef! πŸ™‚

renowned poet and Professor, Niyi Osundare stood up to greet me and gave me a hug while offering a handshake. Big honour. He said he had read me…and when I completed my performance, he gave good constructive criticism. Same as he did for Richard Anyah, who had performed before me. Prof. Osundare said Servio and I write alike… Hmmm. Strange.

Somehow, I got back with Debbie, beautiful friend/thought stealer and invaluable colleague, who I had been traveling with after sneaking to go pray with my loved ones in Ife. Sometimes life teaches us to always value our health, our loved ones and those we hold dear more in certain periods. Maybe you should thank the heavens for any and every one who you have with you right now. Never take any moment for granted.

with Servio Gbadamosi and Prof. Hyginus Ekwuazi
with Servio Gbadamosi and Prof. Hyginus Ekwuazi

Oh well, there’s been much since then. As the Chairman of the Association of Nigerian Authors, I was able toΒ conduct an inter-secondary school competition in Makurdi, Benue here. Had support from writers like Anselm Ngutsav, Debbie Iorliam (both were judges), Ene Odaba, Tersoo Ayede… Mount St Gabriel’s came first.

Now, I have ranted on and on and on. Bottom line: I am back. Did you miss me? I missed you. I still do. So, do quick, get back and let’s continue with this, yes? Okay. #hugs

Author:

Some all-rounded writer with the wits to turn anything and everything to words with inspiration... cheering to glory and on...

9 thoughts on “RANTING ON WHERE I HAVE BEEN: ON THE ROAD

  1. Wow Sagely One, you do know how to turn up and it also checks out that you had tons of fun hooking up and hanging out with the literary bigwigs of our time in the ancient city of Ibadan! You sure have been and are going places Sir, that’s for sure! Truly happy for ya, you’re sooo well deserving!πŸ‘ŠπŸ˜ƒ

    Great post…. what rants and rambles are made of and its really nice to have you back too! Welcome Sir and keep soaring high up beyond the blue skies! πŸ˜‰πŸ˜„

    Like

    1. Merci sis…

      It was fun jare… Wasn’t feeling too well t some point of that journey but God pass devil!

      I was trying to copy your amebo talk but walahi, no one can claim that honourable ‘first class upper’ that you use to weave your narratives. I might come take some lessons soon sef πŸ™‚ Gaskiya!

      Lemme see how to prepare my map to come find Lasgidi sef… Maybe we will meet and write a collab? πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. C’mon Su’eddie, quit being coy, it don’t look good on you! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        My style’s pretty much informal and very ‘unserious’, if you may! I don’t do rules like you creatives and you did pull this off effortlessly too! Afterall, you.are.the.Su’eddie! What’s an informal form of writing to he who churns out real masterpieces….award-worthy?! Warn yasef o, hmf! πŸ˜žπŸ˜’

        Whoa! No kidding on the proposed trip to Lasgidi and a collabo with ‘the’ Sagely One in view?! 😨😲 What can I possibly say besides ‘bring it on’? πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜†

        Do hit me up when you’re good and ready will ya?! Will be waiting in the wings! 😎ness! Hehehe! πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hehehe! Funny that you’d say that Su’eddie! How ’bout you go scour through your yahoomail box huh?! πŸ‘ΏI can pretty much guarantee that there’s a chance that you’d find a mail sitting therein since like forever, πŸ˜‘πŸ˜•; one that’s in dire need of your attention with the subject boldly written and imprinted as…’Barka Da Sallah’! πŸ˜’πŸ˜«

          Feel free to call me out afterwards, if you don’t find it, by all means! πŸ˜›πŸ˜œ Hmf! πŸ˜žπŸ˜†

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Am pretty cool Sagely One! Hiding?! Nah! Just been a tad pre-occupied with stuffs needing my full attention on the homefront and affording me no time to dillydally on my pastime and frivolities, however hard I try to prioritize! So, blogging and things are on hold for now, practically absent on my itinerary of to-do’s! πŸ˜”

          You? How have you been?! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„

          Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

