combustion (a poem) by Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu

what if i turned on the tap

one morning
and fire poured and flowed, circling my feet
and in the devilish horrifying redness,
a sun or octave appeared
and inside it sat a dump
burning and not burning
sizzling to death’s rhythm
half filled with dreams
burning and having orgasms, doomed

what if i woke up one noon
and saw a morrow devoid of life
its soul drifting on pale shores
an eve, not different
what if i woke up one night
and saw my stars retreating
into eternal oblivion
clouds swallowing them
ever so slowly

and i just stared and died slowly ?

18 thoughts on “combustion (a poem) by Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu

  1. What if you woke right up and discovered it was all just a bad dream….a nightmare?! Go figure! πŸ˜žπŸ˜©πŸ˜‚

    Such a vivid imagination you’ve gotten, Hauwa; ought we be scared?! This is gory, dark and real scary! Wonderfully penned, well done! πŸ‘πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Hmmm, I am afraid of some imaginations! But truly, a dark one here. I sometimes wonder why I can’t write like this…but oh well.

      Well done to our Hauwa, who by the way, is grieving over the loss of a dear friend.
      May the times be kind!

      So, this Yemie is still commenting on this blog! Hmmm, we missed your hand here. Lemme try and catch you now sef…

      Like

      1. Aw! I’m sorry ’bout your loss Hauwa; may the Good Lord give you the fortitude to bear the loss of your friend IJN, Amen! Do accept my condolences dear, better times lie ahead! ☺

        Really Su’eddie?! Do you wanna go there like REALLY?! 😞

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yup, I am waiting….what is there you have to see ? πŸ™‚

          She’s hiding somewhere, lemme try and see if I can get through to her. It sure will be nice.

          Like

        2. You accuse me Su’eddie, yet; there are a gazillion thoughts still YET unresponded to on this glorious haven! Whatever have you got to say for yourself now?! I plenty DARE you to! πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜ πŸ˜†

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Na wa o! That sounds like all the amounts that these our crazy politicians seem to be stealing: billion, trillion, gazillion! I hear you!

          Seriously? Haba na… I’ve been faithful, at least, to you.

          Like

        4. Yes! Seriously and when you put it that way; makes you sound kinda like those thieving ‘politricians’! πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜†πŸ˜‚

          Like

        5. I comment my reserve on this one… My due apologies… Maybe I am a politician, no? πŸ™‚ Maybe for me but DEFINITELY for you!

          Like

        6. Comment your reserve abi?! Like duh! 😞

          I have only one word for you Sagely One, wanna hear it?! 😈
          BUSTED!!!!!!!! MwahahahahahaπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

        7. Hmmm, you must show yourself! Yemie o!!! Gini bu ‘BUSTED’? I don’t know what you are saying sha o… And I forgive you for every mischief – of the past… πŸ™‚

          Like

  2. Wonderful whaitifs! And whatif the fiery doom of your dreams, turned the page to a watery theme, where within huge hot clouds of burning steam, realization strikes its bassing boom, and woke me stumbling on way to visit my bathroom. Water and dreams do not mix! πŸ˜‰ poignant and well delivered! Thanks for writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Water and dreams do not mix… Hmmm. That’s why the fire, right?
      πŸ™‚
      Somehow I think, William, that your words are almost inspiring me to get to pen and scribble down some notes fast….

      Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

