Posted in LIFE

LETTING YOUR HAIR DOWN! : SIMPLY DOING NOTHING BUT BEING GRATEFUL

There’s always a deadline to meet if you are in the buzz of the world… Whether you are like my new friend, Izza, who is a software Engineer but bookaholic; Dike Chukwumerije who dazzles with poetry while maintaining a family and having a regular job; Jite Efemuaye, writing a million pieces and still looking for time to have fun or even Chuma Nwokolo, crazy writer, advocate, Nigerian patriot, publisher, entrepreneur, cook etc etc… Yes, add me at the bottom of busy people. And there are a million others we can add – including you, I guess.

letting your hair down

Now, life has made us to become really fast and we allow the times fly, and the present glides into the past. We sigh, sometimes we cry wondering where all the moments disappeared to. Then comes the usual expression some know: it’s a lie.

For the past few days, I have had a million deadlines, an important proposal Β to write, pro bono work to look at, things to catch up with [all these are the story of my life]… and all. Somehow, the weekend brought a different plan I didn’t bargain with. I had friends come around including my cousin, Anselm Ngutsav, with whom we rock the Makurdi literary scene *dancingLiteraryAzonto* ;). We did some small work and after that, took a very loooooong walk. I visited my aunt [didn’t see her though], laughed with my cousins and sneaked to church. I couldn’t stay too long because the night had eaten too much of itself. I took a longer walk home from the Cathedral. I dropped dead to bed soon as I was in.

Next day, morning clean up and I went to do my Easter duties. I had a profound experience and I even got inspiration to write a story, there in church! Too bad I didn’t have paper. I had to collect tithe envelope and tear off a bit – eh, oh well, a writer has got to do what a writer has to do, write? Hee hee hee. Had a friend go to church and we nearly missed each other Β there… Yeah, the talented writer, Sibbyl Whyte. We probably would have gone to check someone or found an Easter buddy but I had heard my aunt wasn’t feeling well and hadn’t gone to mass. Now, you should know my aunt has been nicknamed ‘Revd. Sister’ by her children. So, for her to even miss mass, and not just one Sunday but twice… I had to break every appointment, apologised to Sibbyl and got to my aunt’s house. Saw the family and a myriad of my cousins who stay with her. She would be totally fine soon, she told me sweetly, as we exchanged notes on mass. She was watching hers on EWTN. When I told her it was a Professor who had preached and it was really cool, she had this look on her face of ‘Chai! I have missed a really cool thing!’ Trust me to rub it in by giving her sensational gist of all the man said… Well, not sensational in the sense of adding curry but just simply giving the details in full plus demonstration πŸ˜‰

Long story short, I tried visiting some other people including my secretary of the Association of Nigerian Authors (Benue Chapter) but no show. Got home and watched two movies with my high school seniors who were around…and you can imagine the loads of gist! We were talking about film tricks Β We ate some good rice, though I skipped the lovely chicken. Taking a break…

Well, there was a long evening again and eventually I had another looooong walk…

Summary, I came home far more bushed than ever! I had to put on my generator and I tried to write but ah! Even Super Man had his bad days. Madam Cutie called and yup, it took grace to talk. Eventually, I was off and the dreams came putting me on a board that I used to surf the night to day, despite waking a million times.

In all, I began to worry that I hadn’t done much… You know, deadlines left and etc etc… But I thought to myself, why beat yourself up? Sometimes, it is cool to let your hair fly abi? Even when it is baby afro you are keeping like me πŸ™‚ Let the bear-bear (beards) be… and just snooze long, even if you wake up and the work bug bugs you. And now, I am trying to keep up with people making calls, texting and all. (Somehow the writing is not coming as if I am paying for the overwork of the weekend! But oh well, another overwork starts today…and has started πŸ™‚ ) Every holiday is a time to have a, well, you guessed it, holiday.

We live once, and our lives should not only inspire people by our achievements but also by the warmth of ourselves.

So, even if you are busy as all those early people I mentioned including people like my sister, Hembadoon ItakpeΒ – most dedicated mother ever-liveth, you can do nothing sometimes, and not feel guilty about it. Why I wrote all of this? To make me remember. Why you read? I don’t know. But still, thanks.

'That's not really what I meant by 'let your hair down', Rapunzel.'

Happy Easter and may the grace of the heavens fall sweetly on your face even as you go from place to place. Cheers.

Author:

Some all-rounded writer with the wits to turn anything and everything to words with inspiration... cheering to glory and on...

11 thoughts on “LETTING YOUR HAIR DOWN! : SIMPLY DOING NOTHING BUT BEING GRATEFUL

  1. This was the best post not because I am your new found friend πŸ˜› but really the deadlines are unnerving and makes you all daft with crankiness and you gave a right lesson to pull our hairs down a bit no matter if they are short but still we can try and succeed with imperfections are worth it for selected fortunates like us πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hee hee hee! Selected fortunates. I will drink in on that… (you sending the wine? πŸ˜‰ )

      You don’t need to mention how unnerving deadlines are … Grrrrr! Thinking of it is unnerving enough…but we survive πŸ™‚

      Talking of finds, wow! That poem on your blog… Where do you get your inspiration from?! *stillClapping

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha..really Sueddie you are making me blush lol the inspiration was from my friends..I have seeing them saving money a pound or two for poor.They place a small amount of money for them on daily basis and then give in charity and where as some people are misers so wanted to tell greedy people learn and be a spendthrift πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Now, I am really laughing! Funny! We’d love to see the blush, for real πŸ™‚

          Really? Your friends actually do that? Wow! It really is inspiring to hear that. You know, one of my uncles gave me my biggest lessons on charity and giving. He told me that anyone who says the person would only be generous when the person has got ‘something’ [in essence, when the person becomes affluent] does not have the intention of being charitable. It thought me much that I have come to live by.

          The tale of these friends contributing on a daily basis to give to charity; keeping away something is one I will keep with me too. We need to share more of such. The world can hardly ever hear enough…

          Thank you Izza.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. ya !They do a coin on daily basis can make big bucks someday and I believe the intentions matter more than flaunting!Its in the Heart and I guess will be answerable to God one day or another for our daft behavior so the time is now to buck up a little and contribute .Only if it might be a shillings but still it ll make us a Confidante of God! Cheers..have a great day ahead Sueddie πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hehe. Humour even in the busiest of times. Gee!

    I am glad you took out time to write a piece like this because I remember it’s what I almost always say to you when we talk- you need to give yourself time to breathe. So finally, grandpa let his ponytail down? Gah, I should celebrate and get back to my neighbour to claim the share of rice and chicken I excused myself from yesterday. πŸ˜€

    Welldone Su’! But even when the deadlines are a-teeming, indulge yourself every once in a while. The world would understand. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Na wa o… You also let rice and chicken go? Hmmm, are you sure we aren’t twins? πŸ˜‰

      Yeah yeah! Maybe your words came to bite me finally, just a bit. Work continues soon on full swing… But I just discovered in the end… Ah… we need to cool sometimes.

      Thanks for the reminder Doc. You should remind me more often even when I forget. Why do I have you? πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. You know it’s really funny, I woke up this morning @7.33am and the first thought that comes to mind? Oh God! I slept too much, I have a cake to decorate, loooots of cleaning up to do from yesterday, a family to feed, just to mention a few.

    Okay now, you know what’s really funny? I decided I was doing none of those things. I asked everyone if we could take a short walk and visit a neighbour. Everyone jumped at the idea. Okay, that’s not it. You know what is really funny? I got the notification of this write up while I was at my neighbours.
    Thanks. I really needed the reminder.
    I think my system was already crying out for some of that.
    For the first time in a long time. I didn’t feel guilty about not giving my family breakfast and gisting when I had a lot of work to do.

    πŸ˜ƒ truth is, think I really didn’t know where to start. I still haven’t started decorating the cake. Might work into the night but who cares?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hee hee hee! That’s the spirit! Who cares?! Lois and Jay couldn’t have said it any better! Hee hee hee! I laughed when I read this post… I laughed and if someone had seen me here, they might have tapped me to ask: ‘Ku, orne…’ But oh well… I was imagining the whole day as it went sef! Go sis! Enjoy the walks more… and cool down on the system. We don’t want it to cry jare… Abi?

      Mothers… They spend time to take care of everyone else and spoil others but don’t spare a second to even think of themselves… So, they shrivel and wrinkle far earlier, lose the vitality of their youth and in some cases, even get miserable… Kpesh! Mothers! Cool down. We love you but if you let us on our own for a day, I am not sure we will die…

      LET THE HAIR DOWN!

      Angom, I think that many times we just keep doing the regular following routines and missing the true beauty of life… See how many things pass us by? We devote so much time to certain commitments and one day, find out we don’t even have a life…

      Maybe we should plan so that we can have some of these hair days o! Walahi! We are not getting younger πŸ˜‰

      Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

