Posted in LIFE, NAIJA POETRY, POETRY

ON ANOTHER BIRTHDAY (A Poem) by Su’eddie Vershima Agema

(for Sephaa Charles-Ayede…and for this day, Ngodoo…)

sephaa...
sephaa…

We are twins differed by the breath of light years…
yes, you the little rascal clipping off her hair at intervals.
I go to my mind’s trove bringing up your worth—
noting pictures painted on my mindscape
of memories long tucked away, those kept safe…

I’ve heard them trample your worth in human terms
but who dares compare your essence?
Your entry to these plain brought rainbows
that kept us strong in the midst of great storms
a promise of hope that transformed our lives.
I celebrate your inching step to age and a catching up with me
that might never be
in the twirling years that greys me more as it advances your worth…
As you kiss years I have romanced,

I ask that the times be more merciful on you,
that love cuddle you close
each moment bloom like the cliché rosesef yanga
that you learn from its prick
and hold to its scent…

On this new year, dear, smile to Janus.

sefa abr

Author:

Some all-rounded writer with the wits to turn anything and everything to words with inspiration... cheering to glory and on...

30 thoughts on “ON ANOTHER BIRTHDAY (A Poem) by Su’eddie Vershima Agema

  1. Wow! If the words of this piece of poetry that I find really endearing and beautifully composed can mighty appeal to me, the celebrant for whom these words were churned up must be so darn serenaded to the point of bursting several moves, and blushing up several storms! LMAO!

    You’ve got a way with words Sir! ‘Mindscape’?! That’s new! I like it! Great piece! LOL

    Like

    1. I refuse to blush! … 🙂 I hope she did find it nice… ‘Blushing up several storms’… You know that sounds mighty cool too, ja? I will try to steal some zaniness from you…and pick some cool alliterations that you just drop without knowing…

      Ah! Lemme check the other comments from you, I just might get a new note to write 🙂

      Like

        1. I beef not Su’eddie, how could I?! There’s love in sharing init?! And I choose to share and spread the love all around! *tongue out*

          Plus, you owe me a post, I hope you still remember that bit and do not intend to keep a lady waiting for too long or even in vain! So? *raised eyebrow*

          Like

        2. Tah! What’s this?! A bad case of amnesia?! You’d agreed you’d do a post for my baby blog! Have you forgotten so soon then?! *raising eyebrow again*

          Like

        3. Anything that tickles your fancy, its totally your call, do what you wanna and just dazzle! Prose, poem; whatever you wanna! I’m absolutely down! Again, so?! *raised eyebrow* LMAO!

          Like

        4. Now, that’s what am talking ’bout! You’re simply the ‘bestest’ Su’eddie, yes you art! I’d be on the look out then! Yayyyyy!!!!! LMAO!

          Like

        5. Seriously??? Don’t even pull that card with me Su’eddie, it aint flying!!! Go check out our convos in ‘Fool’s Gold’, there you’ll find it! I think! Hmph! LMAO!

          Like

        6. Hahahahahahaha! Its on your blog sef! Victor’s spectacular write! Remember now?! I’m sooo on to you Su’eddie, there’s simply no escaping this one! You’ve just been had! *Yinmu* ROTFLMAO!

          Like

        7. Please comment on it again lemme be sure… 🙂 Hee hee hee… Nope, I haven’t been had yet… Speaking of which, I need to have some light snack now… *where’s that my garri? 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        8. No kiddin’?! Garri at this time of the night?! Who are you?! Plus, Fool’s Gold is boldly imprinted on thy glorious blogsite, go look for it and quit goofing off! Hmph! LMAO!

          Like

        9. Na wa o! I can’t see it… Maybe it is because of the other work before me… It happens… 🙂

          Yes o, garri with all the accompanying ‘condiments’… Wanna share?

          Liked by 1 person

        10. Hehehe! That’s the perfect tune for the above lines Su’eddie and the very lyrics that strike a chord in me now that you’ve mentioned it are these ‘Who knows what miracles, you can achieve, when you believe; somehow you will! You WILL, when you BELIEVE’! Awesome init?! So again I say ‘Just Believe’! *winks* LMAO!

          Like

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

