RAMBLINGS ON THE WRITER’S DEPTH

There is something about the depth of the artiste – it is only gotten by going into the heart of this one. Several years ago, I would marvel at the profoundness of the works of lots of literary maestros. The depth of their creative springs and reaches left me bedazzled. I started writing, churning out tales easily with poetry and the seeming ‘myth’ of the work put into writing lost its hold on me: these were simply creative works thrown out. Unnecessary attention was usually given them – I thought. I read some critiques to show the pretensions of people’s works. But then, I got to change yet again as I became more of a writer by reading and growing values that I would hold on to.

Writing that was overtly easy to me became harder. Each word became important – what message is this giving? Does it speak what I want? Does it tell what I represent? Many thoughts died with words stifled out till at some point, it became somewhat more possible (but not easier) to churn out words. Poems and other write-ups took longer time and more edits. My being went into the process. Where is this leading to?

IT brought me to realise that the deep depths I saw in works several years ago were for real. I do not doubt that certain writers simply write without thinking. I do not doubt that several writers don’t write what they preach. Yet I know some do. It is these ones that make the writing process all worth the while. The ones that make the name ‘writer’ worth wearing with pride.

There’s no art to finding the mind’s construction in the face rings true in this case too. You have to read the work and in some cases, know the writer deeply to know if both tally: You make your analysis of a work and if you know the author well you can tell if it is a reflection of his/her thoughts or simply a blessing of some muse on a(n) (un)deserving ass (pun intended).

I do not doubt the humanity of the writer. I believe it greatly and know they are more human than many with their foibles, mistakes and all. Now, does it matter that almost everyone on the road or in their room for that matter claims to be a writer? I don’t really think so. What separates (the) writer(s) is the depth of thought that (s)he has come to garner and yes, experience too. It comes from the study of several ones – in books read. The experience in a rich life lived, no matter how such. It’s the varying experience carried. A writer who hasn’t read is not really a writer worth much salt. A writer who hasn’t lived really, hasn’t lived.

I have studied several works and had the pleasure of meeting, interacting and enjoying the unique grace of the friendships of many writers. The true writer still exists and I have seen him and her severally. I get to discover that what I thought of some of their work was far less than what lay therein. They – most writers – are far deeper. It has been very humbling but worth it all. To know these people who are peculiar yet similar in many lights. These ones who would many times just want to be alone to access the recesses of their innermost beings or others who would just want to go out and get it. These ones who look at a bland wall and discover lines to leave others amazed.

All this has made sense why some artistes would risk it all for their craft. It makes sense why a lot of them see that there’s a lot they can offer in words and actions. It’s in the definition of that depth that has become them from all they have drunk of and become – of the words of others, of the life they have lived.

For every true writer, there’s a depth…

Phoneys, have fun. Children, enjoy. Writers, live on.

We started here [Credit: Su’eddie V. Agema]

14 thoughts on “RAMBLINGS ON THE WRITER’S DEPTH

  1. Su’ your words are deep and true. I can relate with everything you say. It has always been my belief that you can’ separate a writer from his work. What and how we write has a deeper reflection on who we are.

    Some of us live through our writing, some hide ourselves in it, but many refuse to acknowledge that they are what they write.

    Like

    • Very true that… very true. Still, there are those few people who hide behind their works…those who write one thing and are different. Oh well, I think they are in the minority. So much more to us and our writings, yeah? Hmm…
      Nice of you to reblog! Thanks.

      Like

  2. “Writing that was overtly easy to me became harder.”

    As that evolution of writing becoming harder happened to me, I realized that I rarely had trouble saying what I meant, The trouble I had was saying it well. I became concerned with matters such as: Is it readable? Is it enjoyable? Is it too long? (To which the answer was always yes.)

    It is an honor to see my post mentioned here. Thank you.
    -Dennis

    Like

    • ‘Writers Do It in Words’ read like a poem. I enjoyed reading it though it seems it really wasn’t an article in itself but a reaction. Some writers sure have a way of making writing seem like the best thing… Yup, that post sure did – and I mean it.
      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment Dennis. Thanks!

      Like

    • Well, coming from the WordPresser of Ramblings ( 🙂 ), I am not too surprised! Hee hee hee. Thanks Kaycee.

      Like

    • A friend once told me that writers have the personality of alley cats. Yes, they are never loyal to a singular subject or issue. Yes ,many develop a style or pattern easily identifiable to them, hence their fan base is developed so to speak.

      Then there are those who shape shift to what inspires for the moment. We have personalities which defy specifics and I personally believe that the end game is the finished work.

      A writer is not necessarily his work as regards to persona and beliefs because we have the gender issues where pseudonyms come into the equation. I do relate to the overtly easy suddenly become harder as a writer evolves….you become your owns worst critic and enemy so to speak lol.

      Another thought provoking piece Su’ and yes; writers live on.

      Like

      • We do, don’t we? Was thinking the whole gender aspect and also, going into the skin of others’ aspect…Was thinking it all through up to the moment when your comment appeared. Now, that is a whole new dimension to it. Come to think of it, some writers actually write in direct opposite of what they think or stand for in reality. No matter how they do it – which is what I argue, whether they go into different skins or so – they still show their depth. Have a chat with them on that which they have covered and you would be amazed. Many times I have been.
        Hmm…the writers’ depth. Wow!
        Let’s live…

        Like

  3. Pingback: I am so spoiled – another Award! | patwoodblogging

  4. Pingback: Those Zany Blog Awards | NMNPHX

  5. Pingback: Let’s Hear That One Last Time | Two Voices, One Song

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

