EXAM ROOM & 2 OTHERS FROM JOSHUA ORJIME CHINGA

EXAM ROOM

In the beginning were pounding hearts

We felt the pestles of our hearts beating

It was the beginning

It played to the melody of fear, anticipation playing loud

The wait was like in the waiting room

When was the delivery set to be

 

Slowly, we calm down

Cardiac lines slowing

Papers not differing the expected

They who had it different

Sang hymns, counting ceiling squares

 

When our scribbles went back

The anxiety flew back worse

We all tick the tocking beats

Of our heart rhyming with time

Who would relieve this tension?

 

 

 

AS TEAR BAGS BURST

As tear bags burst at capacity

When I face the best and worst

I try to disappoint and keep my memories from pester’s dust

 

Safely put at rest

When my heart is sore with its troubles

I massage him first and get my mind set

 

Music, food of the soul

Quench the hunger I feel

For the moments saved, I long

To be enjoyed in the melody of every song

 

How much it puts my being at rest

Soaring on my thought’s nest

The melody of my memory internal

Will set free peace eternal

 

 

LIBERATION

Once the anticipation of the sizzling soup of satisfaction

I wonder whether my poems ever be analysed.

Would it ever devour the taste of quality?

Or ever be worthy to sit around the table

Amongst the great Knights of creativity

 

Here it is I can see

I can catch a glimpse of the first light

Night has lost his heels in flight

One lovely sight I can replay

 

Emerging from this egg of desolation

Incubated by patience waiting to see my kind

Finally I can be at peace for I am hatched

I am found and free from intimidations chains

Where I once I was bound

 

 

Joshua Orjime Chinga is a Tiv ( 🙂 ) poet resident in Benin Republic where he’s pursuing a first degree in Economics at the Houdegbe North American University, Cotonou.

3 thoughts on “EXAM ROOM & 2 OTHERS FROM JOSHUA ORJIME CHINGA

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

