WHITNEY AND LATE TRIBUTES – MAKING THEM COUNT

Whitney Houston is dead…and my sister told me that she died from some drug related thing.

Well, that really isn’t nice of me to write. I should have followed it all and known what happened to our dear Whitney. Why didn’t I? I just decided at some point that I would do a little more job for the living – forgive me. Read on please and you might understand why.

The day I heard of Whitney’s passage coincided with the birthday of my late foster dad, Mr. Charles Ayede and two of my aunts, Mrs. Mbatomun Shango and Mrs. Shiga Adzege. I just had to honour them all with a post. The result was a long essay. Somehow, I didn’t get to feel the vacuum that the great musician had left.
I had too many things doing, too many of those usual deadlines that seem to plague us all till we reach our dead line. However I had cause to visit my sister. We got talking and at some point, I told her I didn’t really feel touched by Whitney’s passage. She was shocked and told me how much it had affected her. That seemed to remind her of something. She got her generator running (trust our Electric power authority to give us ‘no light’). We put cable on and behold it was 106 and Park on BET. It was a show in honour of Whitney Houston. Several people called in from Shirley Caesar to and several more. They all had one thing or the other to say about how great and beautiful a person and personage Whitney was. Through their emotions, the love for Whitney of years back came slowly to me. I felt moved by the tributes. Meanwhile, my sister and I kept talking. She told me Whitney died from some drug related issue. She brought the issue of depression up and in the usual human sympathetic style told me she believed that Whitney had been killed. She brought several conspiracy theories: musicians are not usually alone when they are practicing; Whitney had performed before… and some other really ingenuous lines that nearly convinced me.
I told my sister simply ‘I feel your concern and hope to make Whitney saintly and a lover of life. However, it is possible she was really depressed and died of drugs.’ Why? How?

Many times people get really down and depressed. They might seem fine on the outside but inside, they are hurting. No doubt, everyone wants to be loved and/or acknowledged. We want to have a sense of belonging. It is very possible Whitney had that longing. Someone would ask now: why would she? She was a celebrity and had everyone. That is where the problem is. There are usually people everywhere but how many find time to come close and say for instance ‘Whitney, you are great. We love you. Keep doing what you do’? How many would hang around to keep asking how she was and things like that? When last was she celebrated? When last did people come around to pay lots of tributes to her? This is a woman who was always going through lots of crises and challenges in her personal life. Who can forget the whole Bobby Brown issue(s)? Who can forget that she had other challenges? How many people were there for her? Now, she has passed on and several tributes keep pouring. I asked my sister, what really would have been wrong in people coming together to celebrate her and give her all those tributes while she was alive?
Many times, we appreciate people but don’t let them know. This is a line I have been towing for quite a while on this blog and to almost everyone I know. It really doesn’t make sense to just appreciate without acknowledging that appreciation to the person we have in mind. Who knows, perhaps this is what took Michael Jackson to his grave too? We really ought to make out time to celebrate people – whether they be celebrities, our friends, our leaders, relations, our co-workers, bosses, superiors or colleagues and/or just about anyone we know. Who knows what happened on the night Whitney passed on? Who knows what might have happened if the world had shown her more love? Sadly, the tributes only pour and we can only ask – does it really count now that she is no more? Maybe, maybe not.

The beauty of love is that it is never enough. So, to paraphrase the words of the artist, African China, if you love someone, tell the person. If you appreciate someone, let that person know. If you read an article, watch a video, or enjoy a song and you appreciate it, pass it on, recommend same to other people. It really cost nothing but might save a life. You could even make it a habit to drop comments to tell the writer that the person ‘tried.’
A little always goes a long way. To this end, I can only say thank you to everyone who has come to this blog and read any of my posts. To all who have loved me or said a prayer, I can only say thank you very much. The list is long and I know that if I mention only a few, others might feel bad. Whatever it is, I would try to find a way to surely pass my gratitude. Whatever it is, just note that the gratitude I feel is far more than any words can connote or relate.

Whitney Houston


Dearest Whitney, do rest in peace. I hope you find that in a world different from here where you had so many tears to cry despite the smiles you put on so many people’s faces. To all others who passed silently, rest in peace. And everyone hurting in one way or the other or feeling unloved, do note that at every time, somewhere and in some place there is at least somebody loving you deeply and hoping that you keep being greater. Whether you believe that or not, know that I pray each day for those who read each of my posts. I might not know you personally but you give me reasons to write and keep me happy. May happiness always find you too, with love and everything else you wish for.

Best wishes, S’

3 thoughts on “WHITNEY AND LATE TRIBUTES – MAKING THEM COUNT

Would love to have your thoughts, please...

